BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum iDrive, Audio, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics + Coding Live Cockpit Pro Cluster Retrofit G30 2019 530E

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-15-2019, 11:38 AM   #1
AlpineWhiteF30330I
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330I
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Live Cockpit Pro Cluster Retrofit G30 2019 530E

Hello,

I'm currently have a 2019 BMW 530E and am interested to see what's necessary to retrofit the all new Live Cockpit Pro digital instrument cluster on my car as the ones seen on the 8 series? I have the 6WA cluster and want to upgrade. What parts do I need? And how is the coding going to work? I'm located in SoCal, CA.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2019, 12:59 PM   #2
roxxor
Captain
roxxor's Avatar
555
Rep
773
Posts

Drives: 2020 530e
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

It is quite an extensive list. You would need to replace the instrument cluster at a minimum, and since it pulls information from the headunit, my understanding is you would need to replace that to the newer MGU/iDrive 7 version as well. Also, all cars that have the Live Cockpit also seem to have the newer BDC module, so if your car does not have BDC_Body3 (how it shows in E-Sys/Bimmercode), then you would need to replace that as well.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2019, 01:49 PM   #3
AlpineWhiteF30330I
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330I
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roxxor View Post
It is quite an extensive list. You would need to replace the instrument cluster at a minimum, and since it pulls information from the headunit, my understanding is you would need to replace that to the newer MGU/iDrive 7 version as well. Also, all cars that have the Live Cockpit also seem to have the newer BDC module, so if your car does not have BDC_Body3 (how it shows in E-Sys/Bimmercode), then you would need to replace that as well.
Sounds like a lot of work. So for sure, at minimum I have to replace the whole idrive 6 unit to the idrive 7? Is this a software upgrade or an actual hardware upgrade? Is it easy/ doable? How about coding? What else would be needed? I'm thinking it's better off if I just upgrade to 6WB digital instrument cluster to save myself the headache.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2019, 09:12 AM   #4
SteveinArizona
Colonel
United_States
1379
Rep
2,189
Posts

Drives: BMW 530e
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Greater Phoenix

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineWhiteF30330I View Post
Sounds like a lot of work. So for sure, at minimum I have to replace the whole idrive 6 unit to the idrive 7? Is this a software upgrade or an actual hardware upgrade? Is it easy/ doable? How about coding? What else would be needed? I'm thinking it's better off if I just upgrade to 6WB digital instrument cluster to save myself the headache.
I have a 2018 530e with the 6WB digital display. I actually prefer that to the reverse gauge newer version.

So you could upgrade to the older 6WB display which works with IDrive 6. I don't think you lose much doing that.
Appreciate 1
clee1982666.50

      12-04-2019, 08:30 AM   #5
ejlover06
Private
ejlover06's Avatar
Turkey
8
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: 2017 G30 520 1.6lt
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ankara

iTrader: (0)

I also have a 2017 model with a digital cluster but because of more customization options I would like to upgrade the dash with new DKOMBI4. Preferably without changing the idrive to ID7. I'll follow this topic to see if it can be done
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2020, 11:45 AM   #6
G30Bimmer
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: Bmw G30 530i
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejlover06 View Post
I also have a 2017 model with a digital cluster but because of more customization options I would like to upgrade the dash with new DKOMBI4. Preferably without changing the idrive to ID7. I'll follow this topic to see if it can be done
My 6WB cluster is DKOMBI2 , izzit possible to upgrade any software to dkombi4?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2020, 11:56 AM   #7
mrgicm
Captain
mrgicm's Avatar
189
Rep
603
Posts

Drives: BMW M
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NA

iTrader: (0)

Unfortunatley the list is too big.

For now 100% you would need:

- new cluster

- new bdc unit

- new Head Unit (HU_MGU)

-New kafas which I THINK would need a new front windshield because of the different kafas design
Appreciate 1
clee1982666.50

      02-11-2020, 01:32 PM   #8
roxxor
Captain
roxxor's Avatar
555
Rep
773
Posts

Drives: 2020 530e
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

Kafas did not change yet on the G30, as it doesn’t have Driving Assistant Pro, but looks like the LCI models will based on spy shots. The bigger challenge is that going to ID7 would also require re-wiring the audio system, because MGU cars do not have any MOST connections at all in the car, they switched it all to ethernet wiring.
Appreciate 1
clee1982666.50

      02-11-2020, 02:32 PM   #9
FatBoyZG
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 530 xd
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

iTrader: (0)

I would be happy to change my live cockpit in G30 for good old gauges
My live cockpit started shutting off...it lasts for a couple of seconds and then back to normal. And then again...
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2020, 04:05 PM   #10
clee1982
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
667
Rep
1,569
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW 540i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
not worth it...
Appreciate 1
      02-11-2020, 04:37 PM   #11
VirtualGuitars
Major
VirtualGuitars's Avatar
United_States
694
Rep
1,175
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW M550i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The new cockpit sucks. I had it on my loaner vehicle just recently and I couldn't wait to get my vehicle back.

By the way, it would be easier to buy a new car than it would be to replace all of that. Note that the screen is 2 inches wider than what you have now. That means a new dashboard as well less you're talking about the lite version that's coming on the newest 5-Series. It's not worth it IMHO.

Even if you got it to work, I seriously doubt BMW would cover anything under warranty if you had issues.
__________________
2019 BMW M550i xDrive Sedan | 2018 BMW 230i Coupe | 2017 X6 BMW xDrive35i | 2011 BMW S1000RR (BMW Motorrad) | 2008 BMW 528i Sedan
Appreciate 1
clee1982666.50

      02-11-2020, 10:40 PM   #12
LogicalApex
Lieutenant
230
Rep
438
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW 530xe
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyZG View Post
I would be happy to change my live cockpit in G30 for good old gauges
My live cockpit started shutting off...it lasts for a couple of seconds and then back to normal. And then again...
I wouldn’t wait to have that swapped...
Appreciate 1
      02-12-2020, 09:00 AM   #13
roxxor
Captain
roxxor's Avatar
555
Rep
773
Posts

Drives: 2020 530e
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

Not that it makes a huge difference in the scheme of things, but just an update to earlier posts. My 2020 530e with the Live Cockpit Pro still has the older BDC_Body2 module, so it looks like that would not necessarily need to be replaced if someone was intent on doing this swap.
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST