BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum 2017+ BMW 5 Series (G30) General Discussions Ultimate Care +

12-07-2019, 08:09 AM   #1
roblaw
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 328 XI

Ultimate Care +

So I know this has been discussed and dismissed but I am still going back and forth. I will pick up my new 540 on Monday. It will be a 3yr 36k lease. I will likely use all of those miles. Since the residual is 59%, if I pay $600 for the +, over 36 months I will pay approx. $250.00 for the insurance against worn brakes (and wiper blades), or about $7.00 per month with the bonus that if brakes are needed my dealer does pick up and delivery and provides a BMW loaner for free. Am I missing something in how I am calculating the true cost in my situation?

I drive a mix of city and suburban driving in a high congestion area. While I am a careful driver I do go a bit above the speed limit and regularly have to brake firmly to deal with less careful drivers on their phones or simply not paying attention.

This will be my third BMW. I had a 2016 328 XDrive and did not need brakes in the 32k I had it. I purchased a 2016 535 XDrive CPO last Sept. which had 16k and was in mint condition but had warped front rotors at 30k and had the front brakes replaced and the rotors machined for free (interesting as most on these forums suggest rotors should be replaced but maybe BMW is cheaping out).

Have others found high brake wear in the G30 5 series? My previous cars were 3 Honda's in a row (significant brake wear/replacement cycle) from the early and mid 2000s and a 2012 Hyundai Genesis that still had good pads at 42k when I traded on the 328.

Most on the forums advise against the extra cost but on the lease it seems like cheap insurance to me given the possibility of it paying off.

I appreciate your advice.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2019, 09:26 AM   #2
claykin
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: various BMW