BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum Cosmetic Maintenance: Wash, Wax, Detailing, Repairs Choosing cleaning products & confirming OEM wheels are aluminum

03-28-2019, 12:42 PM   #1
Jeremycloud
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW 550i

Garage List
Choosing cleaning products & confirming OEM wheels are aluminum

I’m new to learning about the beat way to detail a car, but I’m picking up my new 550xi Monday so I want to treat it right. I’ve read the wheels on the 19 550 are aluminum. Is that correct? Can anyone recommend products you’ve had success with on this type of wheel? Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2019, 10:31 AM   #2
Jeremycloud
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW 550i

Garage List
Should have checked out other posts - I’ve found some great answers there.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2019, 06:24 PM   #3
PetieD 7
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 540i xDrive M Sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremycloud View Post
I’m new to learning about the beat way to detail a car, but I’m picking up my new 550xi Monday so I want to treat it right. I’ve read the wheels on the 19 550 are aluminum. Is that correct? Can anyone recommend products you’ve had success with on this type of wheel? Thanks!
Adam's "Eco Wheel Cleaner" is a pH neutral cleaner that can be used on delicate wheel finishes. Although, it's not designed to be used on neglected wheels with caked-on brake dust or heavily soiled. This product was designed as a maintenance product for normal/regular upkeep. This cleaner has a hint of baby powder scent based on my own experience in using this product.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2020, 10:32 AM   #4
gooselee
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 M550i

I've been using Megs Ultimate All Wheel Cleaner on mine - maybe every 3rd or 4th wash (just soap/water for the other washes). Cheap, works well, doesn't smell miserable.