BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum iDrive, Audio, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics + Coding "July Update" changes 3D Surround from a G30 to a G12 7 Series.

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-23-2017, 04:17 PM   #1
Ab3_Fr0man
Private
Canada
26
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: G30 540i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 540i  [0.00]
2011 535xi  [0.00]
"July Update" changes 3D Surround from a G30 to a G12 7 Series.

I got the "July update" done on my 540 and all seemed fine. I noticed the 3D surround view was showing a 7 series G12 now and not the G30 like before. All functionality seems to work, just the wrong model car shown.

I let BMW know once I noticed and they wanted to re-program. I dropped the car off yesterday and picked it up today. The 3D surround still shows the G12 and I was told that's just they way it is now... I think they suck balls for saying that.

Anyone with the July update done, please take a look at the 3D view and let me know if changed for you. - I'm curious if this is a Canada only error, so any members from other countries please let me know.



Thanks!

Last edited by Ab3_Fr0man; 08-23-2017 at 04:29 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 11:43 AM   #2
JohnDoe2017
New Member
6
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW G31
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Same here in Sweden sorry to say.

I will not accept this also but haven't spoken to dealer yet.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 11:50 AM   #3
Ab3_Fr0man
Private
Canada
26
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: G30 540i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 540i  [0.00]
2011 535xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDoe2017 View Post
Same here in Sweden sorry to say.

I will not accept this also but haven't spoken to dealer yet.
Well I guess it's not just Canada then. Thanks.

Hopefully BMW notices this error and issues an update for it.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 07:05 PM   #4
wknddrivr
Lieutenant
United_States
372
Rep
506
Posts

Drives: G30 530i/E36 M3/E39 M5
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I don't have surround view but one of the coolest things about it when I tried it out is that it seems like its actually your car in the image not just a placeholder.

Disappointing that BMW dropped the ball on this. Seems like they're overlooking a lot of small things like A/C cracking, A/C effectiveness, power tailgate and now this.

The small things add up and have the potential to make or break the experience
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 09:52 PM   #5
Ab3_Fr0man
Private
Canada
26
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: G30 540i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 540i  [0.00]
2011 535xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssquared View Post
Disappointing that BMW dropped the ball on this. Seems like they're overlooking a lot of small things like A/C cracking, A/C effectiveness, power tailgate and now this.

The small things add up and have the potential to make or break the experience
Yup, these small issues do add up.... I was disappointed with their response.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2017, 02:53 PM   #6
BarlasaM
Gravity Sucks.
BarlasaM's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Same here man. At first I was like am I just going nuts here , but then checked it with another G30 that doesn't have the new update and found out that I am not Crazy. It infect is now showing a G12, after the update.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2017, 08:13 AM   #7
Ab3_Fr0man
Private
Canada
26
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: G30 540i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 540i  [0.00]
2011 535xi  [0.00]
Is the G12 not a bigger car? doors are wider and the whole car is bigger. Would the distances and measurements used in the 3D view be off as well or is it just the model of the car that is wrong?

Not sure if we can find this out. This may be an actual problem if it's using the G12 measurements on the 3D view, showing the door opening distances when you park, turning radius ect....

Last edited by Ab3_Fr0man; 08-26-2017 at 08:21 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2017, 09:05 AM   #8
BarlasaM
Gravity Sucks.
BarlasaM's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab3_Fr0man View Post
Is the G12 not a bigger car? doors are wider and the whole car is bigger. Would the distances and measurements used in the 3D view be off as well or is it just the model of the car that is wrong?

Not sure if we can find this out. This may be an actual problem if it's using the G12 measurements on the 3D view, showing the door opening distances when you park, turning radius ect....
I think it's just the model of the car that is wrong. I don't believe it has anything to do with measurement.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2017, 09:45 AM   #9
BarlasaM
Gravity Sucks.
BarlasaM's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

UPDATE: I was told by my BMW service center, that they have a fix for it now. Have my appointment scheduled for Thursday. Will post the results after that.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2017, 12:13 PM   #10
Ab3_Fr0man
Private
Canada
26
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: G30 540i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 540i  [0.00]
2011 535xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarlasaM View Post
UPDATE: I was told by my BMW service center, that they have a fix for it now. Have my appointment scheduled for Thursday. Will post the results after that.

excellent, please let me know how it goes


Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2017, 11:42 AM   #11
BarlasaM
Gravity Sucks.
BarlasaM's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab3_Fr0man View Post
excellent, please let me know how it goes


Thanks!
UPDATE: Just got my car back, and I can confirm that it's now showing G30 again...Hallelujah!!!!
Apparently, when programming the software defaults to G12, and it doesn't pull the vehicle model info from the service system. So the tech went back in the system and changed the model to G30 in the service system. So now it's showing the correct image. I don't know much about programming and coding the car, so that's the best explanation I can give.

Last edited by BarlasaM; 09-08-2017 at 02:22 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2017, 03:26 PM   #12
Ab3_Fr0man
Private
Canada
26
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: G30 540i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 540i  [0.00]
2011 535xi  [0.00]
Thanks for the update and details on the solution!

Hopefully my dealership can accomplish this. Let's see how that goes...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST