BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum iDrive, Audio, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics + Coding Radio Won't Remain in Preset Mode

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-19-2019, 10:38 AM   #1
High Flier
Second Lieutenant
High Flier's Avatar
77
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 2019 M550iX
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Radio Won't Remain in Preset Mode

I have my preset FM/XM radio stations set. For some reason, normally after shut down, my radio defaults back to FM or XM mode, and the HUD shows ALL radio stations within range (either FM or XM, depending on the station previously selected). Then I have to re-select the preset mode on my radio.

Is there a way to keep my radio in preset mode?
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2019, 11:34 AM   #2
Rotherd31
User Name
Rotherd31's Avatar
United_States
231
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: 2020 M550i Rosso Corsa/cognac
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lansing, MI.

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Flier View Post
I have my preset FM/XM radio stations set. For some reason, normally after shut down, my radio defaults back to FM or XM mode, and the HUD shows ALL radio stations within range (either FM or XM, depending on the station previously selected). Then I have to re-select the preset mode on my radio.

Is there a way to keep my radio in preset mode?
I have EXACTLY the same issue! Should your dealer or someone here give you the fix, please let me know so that I can get the issue corrected. My service mgr. just scratches his head on this. I did find an easier correction every time I turn on the car. I simply press the mic button and say "radio presets" and they go back on my hud screen. Still a PITA and shouldn't have to be doing this.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2019, 05:09 PM   #3
CLABRO
THUNDER UP!
CLABRO's Avatar
United_States
252
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: BMW M Sport G30
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by High Flier View Post
I have my preset FM/XM radio stations set. For some reason, normally after shut down, my radio defaults back to FM or XM mode, and the HUD shows ALL radio stations within range (either FM or XM, depending on the station previously selected). Then I have to re-select the preset mode on my radio.

Is there a way to keep my radio in preset mode?
I want to try and help out, but I don't exactly get what you're saying.

When you said, shut down, do you mean radio turning off or your car being turned off?

What do you mean can you keep your radio in preset mode? What's a preset mode?
__________________

G30 l Alpine White l M Sport Package l Executive Tier l Icon Adaptive Full LED Headlights l Mocha Nappa Leather l Multi-Contour Seats l Drivers Assistance Package l Drivers Assistance Plus Package l Dynamic Handling Package l Parking Assistance Package l Bowers & Wilkins Diamond Surround Sound System l M Sport Brakes l Apple Carplay
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2019, 12:14 PM   #4
Rotherd31
User Name
Rotherd31's Avatar
United_States
231
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: 2020 M550i Rosso Corsa/cognac
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lansing, MI.

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLABRO View Post
I want to try and help out, but I don't exactly get what you're saying.

When you said, shut down, do you mean radio turning off or your car being turned off?

What do you mean can you keep your radio in preset mode? What's a preset mode?
Every time I cycle the ignition (on/off) I lose the preset mode in my HUD and also the media radio screen. This never happened with my M4. What I;m saying is that after I shut off the car, re-enter and start it up again, the radio is on the same preset station that I was listening to when I shut off the car, but it is in that band that I was listening to, not the preset band. Exa: Let's say I was listening to 6 on Sirius via my preset list when I shut off the car, when I turn it back on again I don't have my preset list, but all the sequential sat channel listings. Same with any other band. Listening say to 107.3 FM on my preset list when shutting off the car. Turning it on and the hud/radio shows the same 107.3 station and the sequential in range FM stations, not my preset list. Does this clear up our problem? Drives me nuts and all my dealer does is scratch his f.....ing head!
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2019, 12:38 PM   #5
SteveinArizona
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1156
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: BMW 530e
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Greater Phoenix

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotherd31 View Post
I have EXACTLY the same issue! Should your dealer or someone here give you the fix, please let me know so that I can get the issue corrected. My service mgr. just scratches his head on this. I did find an easier correction every time I turn on the car. I simply press the mic button and say "radio presets" and they go back on my hud screen. Still a PITA and shouldn't have to be doing this.
That is my fix as well and the easiest one. Others are to press the IDrive media button (once, if presets don't come up on the display, press a second time, then you can select presets) or to use one of your memory buttons to bring up the presets.
Appreciate 1
      05-21-2019, 12:58 PM   #6
Rotherd31
User Name
Rotherd31's Avatar
United_States
231
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: 2020 M550i Rosso Corsa/cognac
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lansing, MI.

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveinArizona View Post
That is my fix as well and the easiest one. Others are to press the IDrive media button (once, if presets don't come up on the display, press a second time, then you can select presets) or to use one of your memory buttons to bring up the presets.
Thanks Steve! Followed your directions and now have presets on button # 6!! Still shouldn't have to do this work around, but guess it is what it is.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2019, 08:11 PM   #7
dlf750
Lieutenant
United_States
125
Rep
575
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW 540i M Package
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
me too. again, shouldn't have to do this on this pricey of a car. I have a button for HUD and interior lighting as well, since i like to change it fairly often. I just can't figure out how to code a button for car play.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2019, 09:46 AM   #8
ejlover06
Private
5
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 2017 G30 520 1.6lt
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ankara/Turkey

iTrader: (0)

I also have the same issue.

In addition to this i always have maps on the NBT screen. But sometimes car starts with the main menu screen

Still no fix for this?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST