BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum 2017+ BMW 5 Series (G30) General Discussions 530e range and observations

01-08-2024, 07:16 PM   #1
mrlaws
mrlaws
Rep
Drives: '22 530e

530e range and observations

Hi all, this is my first forum post and I'd like to discuss my first impressions after having picked up a 2022 530e LCI in Skyscraper metallic gray (idrive7) with comfort+tech packs. I will also go over the driving modes and answer any questions for those looking to buy the hybrid. My comments refer to the LCI model as I have limited experience of the pre-LCI model, I also live in the UK so some of my comments may not be applicable to NA.

Having owned the car for 3 weeks now, it is my first hybrid car, coming from F16 X6 and there are a few observations that I have made.

Information for those who do not know about the driving modes

- When driving in hybrid (default) mode, the car utilises either electric or petrol power. The rev counter is replaced by a power meter, usually up until 40% of power, the car will be in electric-only mode, if the power meter goes past 40% the car will start the engine and you will drive using petrol. The POWER meter indicates how hard your foot is on the accelerator/gas. Or, if you go over a certain speed i.e. 60mph/100kmh the car will switch to the gas-powered engine. If the car becomes low on battery or runs out of battery it will limit the electric power output, until you eventually run out of electric and the car will be forced to run on petrol. But, through regen braking, it will add some electrons into the battery and you may be able to use spurts of electricity again.