BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum Wheels | Tires | Suspension | Brakes | Chassis Adaptive suspension Question

08-02-2023, 06:08 AM   #1
Alscoob
Brigadier General
No_Country
Rep
Drives: G31 540i M Sport Edition

Adaptive suspension Question

Following on from my earlier post I have a different question please. I'm a novice with adaptive suspension so excue me if I'm being stupid! coming from 'S' drive and standard springs.

2020 540ix-drive G31 - with adaptive suspension and I'm trying to understand the functionallity of all the modes.

In comfort - is exactly that, if I press the adaptive button it stiffens the suspension but stays in comfort but then if I go to sports mode the suspension is stiffer with the other different settings and in sports + similar but gererally more agressive.

However if I'm in sports / sports+ and select adaptive it all goes back to comfort mode highlighting its in adaptive.

So is adaptive constantly varying the suspension in comfort, so if i push on harder in bends then it stiffens it more, but if not so hard it's having a bit softer?

Does that mean that in sport the adaptive is just 1 stage stiffer consistantly and in sports+ like 2 stages consistantly stiffer or is it still being adaptive in those modes with a different stiffness starting point?

I realise that there is Sport individual, but just have that in comfort settings at the moment so the start/stop doesn't keep cutting in /out every second in creeping traffic.

Any advice gratefully received
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2023, 12:46 AM   #2
AP
Major General
Rep
Drives: G30 M550

My understanding is that there are 2 suspension profiles
Comfort and sport
Eco pro and comfort will have suspension set to comfort
Sport and sport plus will have suspension set to sport
Eco pro individual and sport individual will have it set to whatever you have selected
Adaptive will change suspension based upon how you are driving,
Appreciate 1
Alscoob2119.00