BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum iDrive, Audio, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics + Coding Emergency call system not available

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-24-2020, 11:38 AM   #1
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Emergency call system not available

Hey,

This week I got an error pop up on my dash and in my My Vehicle Messages along the lines of "Warning - Cannot Make Emergency Calls"

I found this thread

https://g30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1739664

I should replace the battery in the TCU but navigation and everything else works properly.

Zeezu541 in a post above he wrote that he knows how to delete a report via E-Sys

I can't write him a message.
Does anyone know how I can encode this?

Thank you for the answers.
Happy Christmas for all.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2020, 09:08 AM   #2
mrgicm
Captain
mrgicm's Avatar
351
Rep
835
Posts

Drives: BMW M
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NA

iTrader: (0)

In Kombi search for Ecall
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2021, 11:45 AM   #3
bangelov
New Member
11
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 540i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

I replaced my emergency battery few days ago and cleared fault memory via ISTA, so far everything works good. It seems that the battery has recharging cycle limitation, because I measured the voltage of the battery after that and it was 8V as per specification, so there was no voltage drop, but I guess some battery recharging cycle restriction.

This is a video about how to replace emergency battery, it is for 340i but also applicable for G30

Appreciate 0
      01-03-2021, 03:41 PM   #4
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bangelov View Post
I replaced my emergency battery few days ago and cleared fault memory via ISTA, so far everything works good. It seems that the battery has recharging cycle limitation, because I measured the voltage of the battery after that and it was 8V as per specification, so there was no voltage drop, but I guess some battery recharging cycle restriction.

This is a video about how to replace emergency battery, it is for 340i but also applicable for G30

Yes i found this too,if you changed the battery on your G30 do you need to put down the headliner ?
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2021, 04:06 PM   #5
bangelov
New Member
11
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 540i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

No need to put down the entire headliner, you can just remove plastic cover next to the stop light and then bend the headliner a little bit to see the TCB unit (just like in the video) and using screwdriver or any other similar tool you can unlock battery holder and replace the battery. According to the ISTA you need to remove the whole headliner but that's too much work so this is a workaround to replace the battery
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 1
clee1982773.50
      01-04-2021, 04:05 AM   #6
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bangelov View Post
No need to put down the entire headliner, you can just remove plastic cover next to the stop light and then bend the headliner a little bit to see the TCB unit (just like in the video) and using screwdriver or any other similar tool you can unlock battery holder and replace the battery. According to the ISTA you need to remove the whole headliner but that's too much work so this is a workaround to replace the battery
In sedan and combi the headliner is different.
If I want to remove the battery I have to disassemble the whole headliner. This is my headliner
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2021, 05:25 AM   #7
bangelov
New Member
11
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 540i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Oh i see, then yes you need to remove the whole headliner, you can check ISTA to see manual step by step
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2021, 05:43 AM   #8
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bangelov View Post
Oh i see, then yes you need to remove the whole headliner, you can check ISTA to see manual step by step
I found this https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/g...one/1VnbkMkJdi

When the Emergency call system pops out again tell me.
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2021, 06:49 AM   #9
bangelov
New Member
11
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 540i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Yes, you can also use newtis website but it is paid service now
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2021, 03:07 PM   #10
Wwwbingcom
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 530D G30
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Birmingham uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanospeed View Post
I found this https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/g...one/1VnbkMkJdi

When the Emergency call system pops out again tell me.
Hi mate, I've gotten this problem on my 2018 530d, it could be due to snow as snow fall happened 2 days ago and is still here, any idea on where I should get it fixed without being torn apart financially.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2021, 05:47 AM   #11
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Hi,this means that the battery has weakened due to the winter and needs to be replaced.
website newTIS is down so you cant see instructions how to do it.

Battery in tcm costs up to 100
It is necessary to put down the headliner.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2021, 11:22 AM   #12
a_k
Private First Class
9
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: G31 M550d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

We got two G30's with same issue. It appeared this week. Beginning of the week error cleared with restarting the car, but since Wednesday it is there. So It is weird that all batteries died at the same time. My guess is that it is something on BMW's side.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2021, 01:17 PM   #13
Wwwbingcom
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 530D G30
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Birmingham uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_k View Post
We got two G30's with same issue. It appeared this week. Beginning of the week error cleared with restarting the car, but since Wednesday it is there. So It is weird that all batteries died at the same time. My guess is that it is something on BMW's side.
You have described my problem, but I assume BMW won't take any accountability? Could you please let me know what you had to do in order to fix this?
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2021, 01:18 PM   #14
Wwwbingcom
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 530D G30
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Birmingham uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanospeed View Post
Hi,this means that the battery has weakened due to the winter and needs to be replaced.
website newTIS is down so you cant see instructions how to do it.

Battery in tcm costs up to 100
It is necessary to put down the headliner.
That's not terrible, how sure are you that it is just the battery, also is stripping thr whole headliner a very time consuming job? I have 0 experience with cars to be honest.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2021, 10:13 AM   #15
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wwwbingcom View Post
That's not terrible, how sure are you that it is just the battery, also is stripping thr whole headliner a very time consuming job? I have 0 experience with cars to be honest.

I'm sorry for late answer,

If I check the car using ISTA-D diagnostics it says that the battery is weak it needs to be replaced, if I happen to have other problems it will be stated in ISTA-D.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2021, 05:31 AM   #16
Wwwbingcom
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 530D G30
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Birmingham uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanospeed View Post
I'm sorry for late answer,

If I check the car using ISTA-D diagnostics it says that the battery is weak it needs to be replaced, if I happen to have other problems it will be stated in ISTA-D.
Oh brilliant thank you, the message has been gone now for a week, I will just wait til it reappearance.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2021, 11:30 AM   #17
stanospeed
Enlisted Member
stanospeed's Avatar
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW G31 520d
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wwwbingcom View Post
Oh brilliant thank you, the message has been gone now for a week, I will just wait til it reappearance.
Will definitely reappear, these cars have this problem, I personally in even without diagnostics BMW automechanic could tell me that the battery is bad and needs to be replaced.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST