BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum Wheels | Tires | Suspension | Brakes | Chassis Help with Brake Noise (New Rotors / New Pads)

01-29-2024, 01:13 PM   #1
txm550i
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 M550i

Help with Brake Noise (New Rotors / New Pads)

Looking for some help with the brakes on my 2018 M550i with the M Sport Brakes. Quick background, I'm a decent shade tree mechanic. I do as much of the maintenance on my cars as possible. I've done a lot of brake jobs but mostly on classic cars and trucks. This was my first time doing the brakes on a BMW.

I opted for OEM replacement equipment bought through FCP Euro. I ordered new rotors and pads for both the front and rear wheels. I bought Zimmerman rotors and ATE pads. Did the rear first and then about 2 weeks later did the front. I only had a warning for the rear brakes but decided to go ahead and do both the front and rear rather than wait for the front sensor to go off.

At each wheel I thoroughly washed and cleaned the calipers to remove as much brake dust and road grime as I could before re-assembling everything. Sprayed Brake Buster on each caliper and then just scrubbed them with a detailing brush and Adams car wash from a bucket. Nothing crazy.

For the rear I applied the brake grease recommended by FCP Euro (ATE Plastilube) on the hardware (only) after installing the hardware into the caliper bracket. For the front I did not apply brake grease to anything.

I am getting a bit of brake noise from the rear wheels but it only seems to happen when in reverse. For the moment I am planning to do them again and re-grease the hardware and back of the pads.

The front wheels however, are squealing really bad. Mostly during light braking but also even sometimes when hard braking. My questions are:

1) Are there specific recommended points to grease for both front and back? I don't have access to a service manual.