BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Photography/Videography Selling Nature/Travel Photos

04-24-2014, 09:56 PM   #1
BMW F22
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: ///M235i

Selling Nature/Travel Photos

I have been thinking about selling some photos either online or in person (or both) and was wondering if you guys have any tips on doing so. It's just something on the side for fun. I'm not an expert at taking photos but every now and then I take a photo or two that I think would look nice blown up and framed.

Have you guys done that or can you provide any tips/advice on the topic? I understand it is very tough but I'm just doing it for fun. Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 08:55 AM   #2
M_Six
Free Thinker
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic

The local university has an art fair every year (this weekend, in fact) where local artists come and set up tents and display their stuff. I went a few years ago and saw one guy who had lots of large prints of flowers where he used selective color to highlight just the flower and everything else was B&W. Simple Photoshop trick, but people seemed to like it and were oohing and aahing over his pics. I didn't hang around to see how many he sold.

The problem with selling like that is the big investment in printing, mounting, and framing. Then to recoup your money, you need to sell at somewhat high prices. Plus you spend your weekends traveling to art fairs and such to try to sell your images. Not sure it pays off.

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 09:06 AM   #3
BMW F22
Major General
United_States
Rep

That is true about the upfront cost. I didn't think about that aspect. What about selling it online? Do people actually make a decent amount by selling stock photos?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 02:07 PM   #4
druu
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2020 M8