BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum 2017+ BMW 5 Series (G30) General Discussions G30 remote start?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-08-2019, 06:25 PM   #23
roxxor
Lieutenant
roxxor's Avatar
331
Rep
586
Posts

Drives: 2019 X3 M40i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aadum View Post
you can do it. You can buy a display key from aliexpress which comes with additional options. It looks like OEM display key but it is not. In addition to above you need to provide sim card to the system. It should all be plug and play.
I would recommend thinking twice before using that system, as I got it for my X3 and it took away a lot of functionality. I did a write up of it here.
Appreciate 1
aadum50.00

      11-08-2019, 07:15 PM   #24
aadum
Second Lieutenant
aadum's Avatar
Croatia
50
Rep
221
Posts

Drives: 330xd e92 ,520d f10, 540i G30
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Split,Croatia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roxxor View Post
I would recommend thinking twice before using that system, as I got it for my X3 and it took away a lot of functionality. I did a write up of it here.
Thanks for above...I was considering this...Now I will avoid it for sure
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2019, 01:56 AM   #25
Dutt1113
First Lieutenant
Dutt1113's Avatar
46
Rep
380
Posts

Drives: 2011 550i xdrive M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (3)

Someone really needs to take one for the team amd buy the eurostart remote starter and try it out. What gets me is that you have to put a key inside the remote starter box inside the car. Does this compromise the comfort access system if it thinks there's a key inside your car at all times?
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2019, 09:22 PM   #26
Bmw-G30
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW 540i Xdrive
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Thoughts?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2019, 10:33 PM   #27
LogicalApex
Private First Class
79
Rep
185
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW 530xe
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw-G30 View Post
Thoughts?
I'm very new here, but MY2013 wouldn't be the G30 as the G30 started in MY2017, no? It is possible they had it on the previous platform, but removed it on the latest platform for some reason.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:53 AM   #28
roxxor
Lieutenant
roxxor's Avatar
331
Rep
586
Posts

Drives: 2019 X3 M40i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw-G30 View Post
Thoughts?
This OEM one was for the F10 and F15, and they actually even discontinued it for those models. Something to do with a software update that came out which essentially broke the way the remote start worked, so it would no longer function. Not intentionally of course, but still kind of odd that happened.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:32 PM   #29
Bmw-G30
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW 540i Xdrive
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roxxor View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw-G30 View Post
Thoughts?
This OEM one was for the F10 and F15, and they actually even discontinued it for those models. Something to do with a software update that came out which essentially broke the way the remote start worked, so it would no longer function. Not intentionally of course, but still kind of odd that happened.
Oh ok, thanks for the reply Rxxor, it's crazy that even with the remote parking and display key we don't have a remote start, hopefully they put out another update to enable/fix it 😁
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 04:16 PM   #30
roxxor
Lieutenant
roxxor's Avatar
331
Rep
586
Posts

Drives: 2019 X3 M40i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

I think I discussed it in a different post somewhere, but I’d be interested to play around with the 2020 model G30 coding. Someone mentioned it having it in the coding and yes, there are references to remote start if you search around with E-Sys. I tried enabling the options when I was coding my G01, and it gave me the check box for it in the iDrive menu, but it wouldn’t let me actually enable it. However, all of the newer models that have the factory Remote start, like the G05, G20, etc. all had the newer BDC_Body3 module and the iDrive 7 headunit. In my research, there aren’t any actual associated parts that are different(i.e. “only for vehicles with option “1CR”) like you find with different modules/parts for other features, which is why it makes me think it’s all software/coding based. The 2020 5-series got these new modules, which is why I would love to try coding it and seeing what happened.

Last edited by roxxor; Yesterday at 04:21 PM..
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST