E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > General 6MT Question - Downshifting

01-21-2015, 04:48 PM   #1
Blindside_137
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011.75 SSII E90 M3 ZCP

General 6MT Question - Downshifting

My car is an auto but I've driven my dad's manual corvettes before and love it. I want a 6MT next but just had a general and total noob sounding question about decelerating and downshifting.

My dad always puts the car into neutral when approaching stop signs, stop lights etc... I now do this as a result.

This has always made me a bit uneasy when I do it because of the rare occasion you might need immediate power, you can't just mash the gas.

My question is whats the best footwork for decelerating? My naive thought process with MT's during acceleration how I also approach deceleration. As you accelerate and need a new gear, the clutch pedal is pressed you let off the gas. Then once the new gear is selected, as you are releasing the clutch pedal you add some throttle with the gas pedal simultaneously. How does this translate to slowing down? The see-saw type motion "give and go" of clutch and gas that I use for smooth upshifts, when applied to downshifts always makes for a jerky downshift. I tried watching some youtube vids but it wasn't clear. Rev matching is something that makes sense mechanically but not with thinking in terms of footwork. Is it ok to have the gas pedal pressed already to the higher rev band while you then release the clutch pedal? The other thing that's hard to wrap my head around is braking and downshifting but also having to apply throttle for each shift. It seems like the only way, but to a car behind you it looks like you are braking, then not, then braking and then not.. I hope this makes sense.

To summarize -