E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Slight Vibration...Just Sometimes

03-21-2015, 02:32 PM   #1
Nismo G
Second Lieutenant
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2008 335xi Sedan

Slight Vibration...Just Sometimes

Hi All,

I tried to do some research on this, but haven't found anything that seems consistent with my case. I am new to the BMW scene and so far have had more issues with my car in the last 3k miles than with my previous 2 cars combined lol. Awesome car when it works though!

Background on car. 2008 335xi (4 door). 64k miles. Had water pump replaced 200 miles ago. Had (1) ignition coil replaced 2k miles ago along with oil filter housing gasket (leak). To my knowledge the HPFP has not been replaced (per former owner records). I don't think valves have been cleaned. Car is stock.

I am in pot hole central (Boston during winter) to start off. The car starts just fine in the morning, but seems to have a very very light vibration/rough idle at start. When i start to drive it goes away or just the feeling of the car moving absorbs the vibration. However, when I stop at a light and then start to accelerate again you will sometimes (lets say 1 for every 5 lights) get a stuttering feeling from about 700-2000RPM, UNLESS, you let off the accelerator and then hit it again. The same exact feeling will happen when you are under throttle and hit a bump in the road, but if you let off the throttle and apply it again the stutter goes away. Two days ago the "Service Engine Soon" light came on while just driving on I-95 (no bumps or vibration at the time) so not sure if it is related. Drove around today and never felt anything, but like i said sometimes it's there, sometimes it isn't.