BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

EXXEL Distributions

04-29-2008, 10:32 AM   #1
CRS_M3
Rep
Drives: BMW E92 M3 - AW/CF Roof

Question E92 M3 on the Track

Hi, I'm a newbie on this forum, just picked up my M3 2 weeks ago, and I really want to take this car onto the track on a regular basis. Does anyone have any information for me as in how to get started? I have only taken my other car (VW Golf GTI) on track a few times. I need some info on how to maintain the tyres and brakes.

Basically how to keep a road car for track use?

A friend told me that I would need to get a new set of race spec tyres to change for track use. Any suggestions as to which tyres are best suited to the M3? Do i change tyres or change a complete set of wheels?

Will the brakes last? for how long? Can i upgrade the brake pads?

I was hoping to do the minimum and yet be able to take it onto the track.

Thanx for helping me out.
      04-29-2008, 12:25 PM   #2
consolidated
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

Garage List
I'd get race pads, if available, and hold off on R tires since PS2 are pretty good. I like Pagid yellows and PFC01 pads for the track only, they squeal horribly on the road.
The additional grip from R compound tires will tax your brakes even more. I'd also change out the fluid to Motul 600/660, which I prefer to Ate Superblue; Castol SRF is overkill.
The other thing I'd do is get an check the alignment and see if you can get some negative camber and reset the toe, caster. Not sure if this car likes to understeer as much as others.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2008, 01:08 PM   #3
KASM3
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2015 M4

I am curious of this as well. Just a few concerns about the above post. Will putting Racing Blue brake fluid cause any warranty issues?