E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Stage 2 Can't be Diagnosed by Dealer

07-06-2017, 07:27 PM   #1
gr8whte
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2011 335d

Stage 2 Can't be Diagnosed by Dealer

Hey guys,
Just a little background. I've been running Lenny's tune with Bohl's DP for about two years now. Car's been running great without any issues since the carbon cleaning, which happened right at the end of my warranty before I modded the car.
Now the car is at 73K, 2011. Last summer I've replaced all the accessible vacuum lines, pressure controllers, and the red boost pipe. As part of maintenance.
I live in South Florida and don't have a garage, so I try to do stuff in a bulk at a DIY Garage down in Miami, about an hour drive.
Everytime I pray I won't fuck it up and end up getting stuck there, as I haven't lived here that long and don't really have any friends who could lend me a hand, so every time I go to work on my car it has to be drive-able for me to make it home. Otherwise I'd be stuck in not the nice part of Miami, 60 miles from home and running a tab for the DIY garage.

Now,
recently I started having an issue with my car. Was running some errands with the wife on a weekend, a few weeks back, cruising in traffic at about 1200 rpm.
Traffic picks up, so naturally I give it some diesel, and was like WTF, we're not really accelerating, RPM climbing pretty slowly.
Look in the mirror and there's a huge cloud of black smoke behind me.

Since then I've been trying to figure it out and kinda pinpoint the conditions under which the car behaved in such a way.

in the meantime I've replaced a Sensor on the Intake # 13627792260, as I've read some people were having issues with it, a low cost item and took like 5 minutes to do. No improvement.
Had a spare EGR valve laying around, that I haven't replaced yet. So I did that real quick. Same thing. 11747810831