BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X1 Forum (F48) New engine for my X1

01-28-2018, 05:45 PM   #1
alan66
Rep
Drives: BMW X1 F48 28i

New engine for my X1

Welcome!

Firstly, I would like to apologise for my English. Unfortunately, I am still learning it.

I have a very important question for you. And I would very much ask for honest answers based on knowledge.

Well, my X1, whose country of origin is Canada, has recently experienced an unpleasant accident. One of the cylinders in the engine has cracked. I replaced it with a new one.

This damage, however, caused by metal particles entering the oil. We are trying to clean it up, but we do not know whether we will succeed in doing so. Wrong chances.

That is why I have two questions.

1. Is it possible to replace the B46 (sulev) engine with B48 in this vehicle.

Unfortunately, I don't have access to B46 engines because they are outside the Europe I live in. Here we have here B48: there are no significant differences between what I read.

Can I simply buy B48 versions and replace it instead of B46?

2) Alternatively, do you know any good methods for getting rid of metal (aluminium from cylinder) particles (dust) from oil? We will try to change the oil every 20-30 km and filter about 5-6 times, then every 100km 3 times and then every 500 km about 2 times. Total 10 times.
There will probably be no progress at all.

I would be grateful for any suggestions!

I warmly welcome and apologise for the grammar.
Alan.

Photos:
View post on imgur.com

Last edited by alan66; 01-29-2018 at 03:06 AM..
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2018, 03:14 AM   #2
Pganders
Second Lieutenant
No_Country
Rep
Drives: X1 M Sport 30e

That sounds bad but surely if it’s an F48 X1 is it still not covered by BMW warranty??
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2018, 04:23 AM   #3
alan66
Rep

Thx for your post.