THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Tracking / Autocrossing Will I wreck my car if I autocross it?

03-21-2018, 04:06 PM   #1
vancitymike
Private
Rep
Drives: 2015 M235i xDrive

Will I wreck my car if I autocross it?

I'm thinking about trying it - I'm totally fine wearing down some brakes and tires, but not interested in killing everything in a day...

If you're being nice to your car, what is your point where you back off? Can anything bad happen? Will a few runs really do anything at all? I'm totally new at this, thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2018, 04:30 PM   #2
overcoil
Major General
Rep
Drives: M235i 6spd

I don’t autocross or track my 235 because of what I perceive as the stress - won’t do maximum acceleration from a dead stop or power slide in the dry. I will do high-speed runs and high speed cornering, accelerate hard once the car is moving and in the wet will activate ABS and oversteer.

Will you notice a difference in your car if you autoX monthly ? I guess it’s what happens over accumulation of events - how long and how many But a car that sees LOTS of track or autoX can feel looser or clapped our.

Last edited by overcoil; 03-22-2018 at 08:34 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2018, 12:41 PM   #3
semclane
Private
Rep
Drives: 2015 M235i - Dinan Suspension

I have been autocrossing for 35 years and have yet to suffer any "issues" other than cone boogers that are easily removed with a little cleaner/wax. Any responsible organization holding an autocross will adhere to safety rules about keeping the course away far enough away from anything you could possible hit and damage your car. The only real problems I have witnessed were with cars that were fairly heavily modified.