F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > 2018 340 - first mods
Studio RSR

06-28-2021, 08:23 AM   #1
Red-i
Second Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2018 340i

2018 340 - first mods

Picking up my first BMW this week. I was thinking of getting the BMS billet intake along with the jb4.

I'm just looking for some extra power but not at the expense of reliability. I ran into alot of threads regarding Canadian gas quality.

From what I gather, without adding anything to the fuel, if I stick to Petro 94, am I ok to run map 2 on the jb4? Or is map 1 the limit? And in terms of a difference in power to the wheels, what can I expect with a simple intake , and map1 or map 2.

Newbie here with alot of questions

Thanks!

Last edited by Red-i; 06-28-2021 at 08:24 AM.. Reason: Email notification
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2021, 09:57 AM   #2
alohasurftoad
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 440i gran coupe w/mppsk

FWIW, on this platform and most modern turbo cars, intake is the worst 1st mod for power because the stock intake is so good. The stock B58 intake is no exception.

A piggyback tune such as JB4 is a better 1st mod, however works by basically tricking the ecu to give you more power, but there's something better.

A stage1 flash tune, such as BM3 or MHD, is the best option for your 1st mod since it reprograms the DME increasing power with the smoothest delivery.

Please read through and query in the B58 engine subforum for better info and response.
https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=663
Appreciate 3
      06-28-2021, 11:24 AM   #3
dmaxdmax
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 M235i 6-spd