BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

05-18-2008, 01:34 PM   #1
imported_LiveFast135i
Private
Rep
Drives:

Racing/Class Restrictions

Hey guys, I'm new to the whole idea of organized racing. I was wondering if a modified car could still be eligible to participate in such events, or which mods would not allow you to run? Different mods/different races, etc. Thanks in advance guys.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2008, 07:13 PM   #2
brakefade
Rep
Drives:

There is a class for every car regardless of mods.

In SCCA stock class, you can change exhaust from the cat back, run any wheels that are the same width & diameter as stock, any shocks that fit to the stock mounts (no more than double adj and no remote resevoirs except if oem), any front sway bar, any air filter, any brake pads, any DOT approved tires and any fluids.

After that the car could go to street prepared or possibly street touring (currently twin turbo cars aren't allowed but may be in 09).

Rules are available online here:

http://scca.org/contentpage.aspx?content=61

Or let us know what mods you have and we can help you figure out your class.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2008, 09:40 AM   #3
imported_LiveFast135i
Private
Rep
Drives:

+Million! Thanks so much... I'm considering a 135i, and if I go ahead with the purchase, I plan on racing it, but was wondering if modding it would keep me out of tracking it.... Thanks so much for the quick reply...cheers.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2008, 10:10 AM   #4
RedTRex
Digital Cerebrum
United_States
Rep
Drives: 05 330ci ZHP

Garage List
2005 BMW 330ci  [0.00]
Dude, Where in Jax are U? I live near Racetrack rd and US1.......were you at Gainsville last weekend? in Buccaneer SCCA? I ran the Forester in HS while waiting on my One....
Rick

BTW - LiveFast, I echo what he says - and just to add the 135i AND 128 are classed in DS right now......

Quote: