BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

07-02-2008, 07:13 PM   #1
wu2x
Captain
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2011 E90 M3 6MT

New to Performance Handling: Order in which to Upgrade

Hi All,

I'm a complete newbie to performance driving and performance cars in general. I know I need to practice a great deal before I'll get anywhere, but I also want to upgrade the car's handling characteristics at the same time as I'm learning.

What should I start off with in terms of modding the 1 for handling on the track? I've recently purchased KW v2 coilovers, because I wanted the lowered look, but also the ability to tweak to my liking and it seemed like the easiest solution. From that point, should I be looking at sway bars, camber plates, new tires, brakes, or something else? What order should I be buying them to match my progression on the track?

Thanks for all the help!
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2008, 10:46 AM   #2
adc
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 F80 M3 ED

In order to match your progression on track, keep the car stock for at least 2 track schools. :smile:

Learn your car, wait until you reach its limits - I can guarantee you won't do that in your first driving school. Most likely won't happen in your second school, either.

If you already bought the coilovers, go ahead and install them I guess. Ask the shop to set it up for a beginner and not too low, would be my advice. You don't want a hard setup initially on track, because the harder the suspension in general, the quicker it will let go when you reach the limit (with less time to react).

R compound tires and wheels should come way later, after brake pads & fluid and more suspension tweaking and lots more track driving. And with the adjustable nature of your coilovers, perhaps you won't need sways.