BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

12-28-2008, 08:34 AM   #1
MastaMind
I like beer
Rep
Drives: AW 135

Which springs w/ Koni Yellows

With Spring fast approaching, it’s now time for me to address the soft factory suspension. Coilovers are not an option because I do not have a local shop that can corner balance and correctly set them up.

With that said, I decided to go with Koni Yellows due to their adjustability and durability. I’ve been running these shocks on my daily driver for the past 5 years and have no complaints.

I’m having problems, however, deciding on which springs to use. The H&R Sports are too low in the front for my liking, so I’ve been eyeing the OE Sports and the Eibach Pro Kit. The OE Sports lower 1” f/r and the Pro Kit lower 1.2” f/r, which is the max I’m willing to go. Alternatively, I could order the Dinan springs, which only go .5” f/r, but I would prefer a slightly more aggressive drop. I also saw the Hartge springs lower 25mm, but I have no clue where to order those.

So, I’m looking for input/advice on the above choices. I would like to try the H&R OE Sports, but I’m concerned that they’ll be too soft, and I’ve not yet heard of anyone using those springs. Your thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2008, 08:41 AM   #2
mikeo
Santa Fe Concorso
United_States
Rep
Drives: '11 M-sport 328i, '13 X1 28i

The H&R OE Sport springs were not yet available for the 135i when I checked a couple of months ago. If they've finally arrived I think they would be my first choice.
      12-28-2008, 09:23 AM   #3
MastaMind
I like beer
Rep

I think I'll probably end up with the OE Sports, but I wish H&R would quantify their stiffness somehow. I called and spoke with someone, but they wouldn't disclose the spring rates. All I got was "they take the wallow out" in comparison to the stock springs. Great, thanks...
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2008, 10:36 AM   #4
gatorfast