ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > Regional Forums > USA - California
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

04-15-2009, 02:15 PM   #1
kmancars
Rep
Drives: 05Z4,3.0,AT,Sport Pak

z4 suspension sport, hard on my back

I bought a 05 Z4. I am new to sports cars I need some help. The car is very fine, but the sport suspension on 18" run flat tires! I must admit my back is not the best, but at 62 I am in good shape. What can I do to soften the ride? The ride now is unforgivingly stiff and choppy. The car has only 34k miles on it. Thankyou for your help.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
CalRick
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '15 M235 & '95 M3 tracktoy ;

Garage List
2016 X3 Xdrive28d  [0.00]
2015 BMW M235i  [0.00]
1995 BMW M3  [0.00]
The first change would be to replace the runflat tires with conventional tires - RFT sidewalls are notably stiffer to support things without air. My wife couldn't stand riding in our Z with the RFT's after her neck surgery, but is ok with conventional tires on it. Of course, without the RFT's you should get a compact spare (eats up a lot of trunk ******* or a mobility kit for emergencies.

You can also check the reviews on tirerack.com to get a feel for which tires ride better. A switch to 17" wheels and tires can also help with the ride for the cost of new wheels and a bit of loss in handling response.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2009, 12:57 AM   #3
kmancars
Rep

Thank you Cal Rick and any other members

I see your point on the RFT and wheel size. Where would I buy 17" factory rims, used, or trade for my 18" elipticals? I am worried about the hard ride solution as a newcomer to BMW. I shelled out some sizable money for this car, without a clear understanding of sport suspension or RFT's.

Could I go even further to a 16'' stock rim? Advice from any other members will be appreciated.

Thank you again Cal Rick
Appreciate 0