ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Navigation, Audio, Bluetooth, Stereo, Electronics Talk
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

01-21-2010, 08:42 PM   #1
DerrickO
United_States
Rep
Drives: E85 Z4M Convertible

2003 Z4 3.0i Subwoofer Question

Greetings,

Last month I purchased a 2003 Z4 3.0i (09/03 build date) with the 10 speaker Business CD sound system and DSP choices of Church and Jazz Club.

This is my first BMW and I'm still learning about the car. The forums have been a great resource. I know from reading other posts about the various Z4 stereo systems that they're aren't the best in terms of sound quality and there aren't that many upgrade options short of replacing the system with an aftermarket one.

Up to this point I had only listened to FM radio and really hadn't tried to get the system sounding good with the bass and trebel settings. Just this past weekend, I was finally able to add the AUX cable mod and connected my portable Pioneer XM Radio.

Now that I have XM back, I've tried to set the bass and trebel and played with the fader and I am unhappy with what I'm hearing (or rather what I'm not hearing). LOL

Questions:

1.) If I adjust the fader to the four rear speakers (two behind the headreasts and the two subs at the back of the seats), should they sound like an AM radio broadcast? When I adjust the fader back to the front 6 speakers it takes on more of a stereo quality sound but it is definately lacking bass.