E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > USA - New England > What car wash do you use in Boston?

12-05-2006, 01:10 PM   #1
Tennberg
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 E90 335i w/ xDrive

Garage List
What car wash do you use in Boston?

I've been using Allston Car Wash since 2000 when I initially had a Volvo, then continued to use them when I had my A4.

I've only had my 328xi coupe for a week now, but it is definitely starting to accumulate a bit of dust and grime. I'm thinking of getting it washed this weekend, but there's one thing that concerns me about Allston Car Wash.

The blowers at the end to dry your car use the force generated by the air coming out to "hover" a few inches above your car. This way, they don't drag along the roof. However, since this is my first car with a shark fin, I'm concerned the blowers would drag along it and damage it.

Do those of you with shark fins find this to be an issue? Do you use Allston Car Wash? If not, any others around Boston you'd recommend?
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2006, 02:07 PM   #2
Brunotheboxer
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2014 Shelby GT500.

i recommend that you wash it yourself until its just too cold outside then find a good touchless one. i dont know anything about alston car wash but if its not touchless you are hurting the paint.

"...I maybe drunk, but you're ugly, and I can sober up..."
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2006, 02:39 PM   #3
ska///235i
***** noob
United_States
Rep
Drives: 325xi>M235i>428GCx Mspor

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
I heard good things about allston car wash, but I would never let ANYBODY wash my car....lol
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2006, 04:04 PM   #4
TrailBraker
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: M4

Even the touchless ones are real bad. They use very harsh soap that can etch your paint. I know becasue it happened to me.
      12-05-2006, 05:00 PM   #5
Brunotheboxer
Colonel
United_States
Rep