E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Safe to "Clay" without polishing

06-29-2011, 08:23 AM   #1
roundle
EXPAT
United_States
Rep
Drives: 18 VW GTI;18 CX9;11 E91 N52

Safe to "Clay" without polishing

Hi All,

My car's about a year old. I'm getting ready to polish with Klasse All-In-One and then add a new layer of P21S Wax.

Prior to the polish and wax, I am thinking of using some clay. I bought the Dodo Juice Lube and some fine Sonus extra-fine clay.

Questions:

1. Will the extra fine clay be ok if I only polish with Klasse AIO, a chemical cleaner? Or, should I instead use an abrasive polish?

2. I've never used clay before. How many bars (3oz) should I expect to use?

Thanks!

Last edited by roundle; 06-29-2011 at 09:40 AM.. Reason: Dodo, Not Dino
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2011, 08:27 AM   #2
Express
Major General
Israel
Rep
Drives: 06 330i

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [8.30]
1 bar should be enough just make sure you seal or wax after/
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2011, 08:45 AM   #3
Miami
these cars become an addiction :/
United_States
Rep
Drives: 08' E92 328i

whats up with people calling it "dino" juice lately? did the company name change?

and yeah one bar should be enough...just fold and use a newer fresher side once the current one gets a lil contaminated.
9-tenths of a second is a hell of a lot of time!!! That's walking all over the AMG. In fact, not only is that walking all over it, that's finishing, jumping out of the car, shitting in your own hand and throwing it at the AMG as it drives by to finish its lap.
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2011, 09:41 AM   #4
roundle
EXPAT
United_States
Rep

Thanks for the input. Good to know that 1 bar will be enough--that's all I ordered...

Anyone up for my first question:

1. Will the extra fine clay be ok if I only polish with Klasse AIO, a chemical cleaner? Or, should I instead use an abrasive polish?