E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > Fuel pickup issues, anyone else?

10-07-2007, 08:59 PM   #1
F30Toad
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 Genesis G70

Fuel pickup issues, anyone else?

I was at a DS this weekend and started having an issue with fuel starvation at a tick under 1/2 tank. I had the problem on three different turns, all under hard braking and right handers.

Did a school back in June and never had the problem and ran the tank down to 2 miles to empty. I know I was driving harder but it seems like 1/2 tank is way too early to be experiencing fuel starvation. I am pushing myself and the car hard but find it hard to believe that as a novice I am pushing the car beyond it's limits on stock tires.

When it happened I lost complete throttle response until the car was settled for 10-15 seconds. Once it came back on I had full power. I did not get any warnings on the dash, oil temp was about 280-5 and DSC was fully disabled.

After a , I only saw one post back in 06 about the same issue but with left turns and no answer. Does anyone have any idea what it could be besides a fuel pickup problem, or is anyone else experiencing the same issue with the 335i?
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2007, 09:08 PM   #2
Hegemony
Fast Like Tiger
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07 M Coupe

Never had a problem and I've started probably as many as 6 track sessions at just over 1/4 tank.

Sorry to hear about your issue. Probably a stupid question, but could it have been DSC/DTC?
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2007, 09:33 PM   #3
drexplode
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: G26 i4x

if you lost power, it was probably the high pressure fuel pump. could be a vaporization problem.
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2007, 11:06 PM   #4
F30Toad
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 Genesis G70

Quote:
Originally Posted by drexplode View Post