E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > E92/E93 smoked tail lights using vinyl

05-29-2014, 05:00 PM   #1
Lotus99
Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 19 M2C & 18 X3 M40i

E92/E93 smoked tail lights using vinyl

So I've been toying with this mod for a couple of years, and finally ordered some light smoke precut sheets from Ebay for $20, so I was really excited, thinking it'll be a pretty easy mod.

The inside lights on the trunk lid took a few minutes each. Just lay on the film and squeegee out water. Easy!

But the outside ones - holy fook - took me 3 hours PER side! The final result came out great, but I would not do it again, on anything with compound curves, like our 3 series has. Especially with a precut sheet. Much easier to just get a bigger sheet where you don't have to do as much stretching to reach all the corners. Of course, I've found all this out after I was half way thru the mod and pulling out my hair...

When the instructions said "heat, squeegee, stretch, and keep repeating", it's not a joke. It's painfully slow and you get bubbles and creases.

It's a two person job ideally, because there's no freakin' way you can hold the sheet with two hands and stretch it while heating it, and squeegeeing. So I taped up this little holder on the hair dryer so I could hold it in my mouth while using my hands.

And I would definitely work from the outside edge to the inside of the trunk. It's easier to stretch the vinyl that way.
This is how easy I thought it would be:

But instead, now I realize because the E92's tail light has multiple curves on it, this is the right technique, which is the only way you can do it:

Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      05-29-2014, 08:58 PM   #2
Blindside_137
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011.75 SSII E90 M3 ZCP

Yikes! Sounds like a nightmare!

Turned out well although I'm not crazy about the dark look.