BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

08-27-2017, 09:15 AM   #1
AirForceOne
Rep
Drives: 2015 VW GTI

New kid in town

Hello everyone! Been lurking the forums and really been eyeing either the M3 or M4. Currently, I have a 2015 VW GTI but I'm thinking I need to get out of the boy racer scene (Just turned 39). Getting ready to retire from the Air Force and considering on which car to give to myself as a gift. I've considered a Z06, and a GTR, but now considering the M3/4. I would most likely get a used one with low miles. I've always been a firm believer on letting the original owner take the depreciation. My Father is an avid BMW/Porsche guy. Any advice since I'm a NEWB to the BMW scene? Besides the obvious differences between the M3/4 platform being a 2 door versus 4, is the performance a huge difference? Performance pkg. a must? All I know the exhaust sounds better on the perf. pkg. Thanks in advance! - Shane
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2017, 09:21 AM   #2
Super Spartan
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2023 Nissan Z

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirForceOne View Post
Hello everyone! Been lurking the forums and really been eyeing either the M3 or M4. Currently, I have a 2015 VW GTI but I'm thinking I need to get out of the boy racer scene (Just turned 39). Getting ready to retire from the Air Force and considering on which car to give to myself as a gift. I've considered a Z06, and a GTR, but now considering the M3/4. I would most likely get a used one with low miles. I've always been a firm believer on letting the original owner take the depreciation. My Father is an avid BMW/Porsche guy. Any advice since I'm a NEWB to the BMW scene? Besides the obvious differences between the M3/4 platform being a 2 door versus 4, is the performance a huge difference? Performance pkg. a must? All I know the exhaust sounds better on the perf. pkg. Thanks in advance! - Shane