BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

10-16-2008, 10:10 AM   #1
urbo73
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2021 BMW M340i xDrive

From Porsche Cayman S to E90 M3 6MT - My Experience With the New M3

I picked up my new '08 E90 M3 6MT yesterday morning. Silver/Black with ALL packages and options and quite a good deal.

I had been driving a Porsche Cayman S for the last 2 years, and the lease ended. I loved the Cayman S, but I needed a 4 door since I have a 14 month son now, and driving my wife's Acura RDX is not fun for me).

I had owned/driven BMWs in the past (530i and 330xi), so I was somewhat familiar with the iDrive, controls, layout, etc. And quite frankly, I don't care for Audis, so the M3 sedan was the only choice for me - a car to satisfy both my sports car need and family needs.

That being said, here are my initial impressions (which undoubtedly are going to change over time as I get more used to and familiar with the car).

Some notes:

1. I love manual transmission cars, so the 6MT was the only option for me. That being said, I was a bit surprised to see how notchy and "stubborn" the shifter can be. Putting into 1st gear sometimes feels like I'm fighting the stick - a lot of effort and unpleasant mechanical noise (feels like I'm about to break it!). Sometimes I'll do it twice just to make sure when I engage the clutch it's really in 1st and not going to grind. The 2nd time it's always smoother and feels precise. The first time, it's like a fight! The 1st to 2nd shift is also notchy and seems harsh. Again, I can hear parts moving and it just doesn't feel smooth to say the least. I hope this will get better with break-in time. Perhaps I got spoiled with the Cayman S, where the tranny was smooth and precise from day 1.