BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

12-14-2008, 09:35 PM   #1
SpeedballTrix
Second Lieutenant
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2009 135i 6MT SBM/CBL; 2022 X5

Question about JB3 PinOut vs PnP

This may seem stupid but why is the Plug and Play version so much more expensive? The only difference is that they solder the connector on for you, right? Or is is that with the pinout version you have to splice the JB3s outputs into the stock ECU?
I have no experience with installing piggybacks but I have extensive experience with electronics (I currently work as a waveguide technician).
If I had the physical connector I could just solder it up myself in like 20 minutes. It's what, 30 or 40 wires? Why is it nearly twice as much, then?
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2008, 09:43 PM   #2
akak1997
Major
Rep
Drives: BMW 135 @ 135mph

Garage List
2008 135i  [0.00]
There are more than 30-40 wires, more like 100 of them. There are only 11 wires JB3 need to splice, but you've to make a connector to fit the ECU, that's where the annoying part is.
if you're good with electronics, go with the pin out and make one on your own. it's not that difficult, just pain in the ass to make one.
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2008, 08:32 AM   #3
Mike@N54Tuning.com
Joint Chiefs of Staff
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedballTrix View Post
This may seem stupid but why is the Plug and Play version so much more expensive? The only difference is that they solder the connector on for you, right? Or is is that with the pinout version you have to splice the JB3s outputs into the stock ECU?
I have no experience with installing piggybacks but I have extensive experience with electronics (I currently work as a waveguide technician).
If I had the physical connector I could just solder it up myself in like 20 minutes. It's what, 30 or 40 wires? Why is it nearly twice as much, then?